Well, this is it.

I really didn’t want to be one of those people that thought leaving the country necessitated telling every tiny detail of my day to anyone who will listen. I understand that I am not backpacking through Tibet or experiencing what it is like to live in a third world country. My journey is not unique or particularly exciting. However, I started this blog for a few reasons:

1) For myself. I want to remember this experience, every minute of it. It’s actually harder than I thought to force myself to hand write in a journal – I feel like I have way too much to say and too little time.

2) For my family and a few close friends. This is for you guys so I can share all the random details I forget to share when we Skype or text. I know that for some of you (MOM), photos on Facebook are not enough.

What I will do with this blog:

  1. Post random thoughts and musings on Spanish culture, society, etc.
  2. Document my travels in and out of Spain
  3. Update every once in a while with what I have been doing

What I will not do with this blog:

  1. Post every day. I don’t want this to become an obsession, and I really do want to fully integrate myself into speaking Spanish
  2. Post a million pictures. That is what facebook is for.

And with that, here I go!

2 thoughts on “Well, this is it.

  1. Wonderful seeing that you’ve begun this blog.

    Always enjoy reading what you write. Being there is an experience you will never forget. It’s the small details that you will want to read about later, so write some of those random thoughts and your impressions of life in your present home. As you indicated on Facebook, you now LIVE in Seville, Spain.

    BTW, each journey is unique in its own way. For you, and all who care about you, your journey is an exciting one that will be filled with meeting and making new friends, visiting many special places, and immersing yourself into a different culture.

  2. Z ~
    Varios Pensamientos:
    1. Brava! La inmersión es mejor, por lo que bañarse en la cultura, los errores y todos
    2. Estoy de acuerdo con la tía Dianne, Unique es, por definición, garantizado. Sus palabras en este blog no son sobre Great Art, pero la libre expresión. Tenemos la audiencia / familia el placer en el diálogo, que es su propia experiencia “única”.
    3. No reducir las marcha de su propia exposición a Sevilla. Corre hacia adelante para inhalar everthing lo más rápido que se puede golpear el botón de pausa. Seguro que tiene años, pero las primeras impresiones serán los que más aprecian con facilidad, y la experiencia más profunda se llega sólo después de haber sido completamente expuesto.
    S ~

    Z~
    Several Thoughts:
    1. Brava! Immersion is best, so bathe yourself in the culture, mistakes and all
    2. I agree with Aunt Dianne, Unique is, by definition, guaranteed. Your words in this blog are not about Great Art, but Self Expression. We the audience/family take pleasure in the dialogue which is it’s own “unique” experience.
    3. Don’t Downshift in your self-exposure to Seville. Race forward to inhale everthing as quickly as you can then hit the Pause button. Sure you have year, but first impressions will be the ones you most easily cherish, and the deeper experience will come only after you’ve been fully exposed.
    S~

Leave a Reply

